Seize the European Union Journalism Prize 2023 for Georgians (5,200 GEL)

Seize the European Union Journalism Prize 2023 for Georgians (5,200 GEL)

As the world commemorates World Press Freedom Day, the European Union Prize for Journalism 2023 is unveiled, recognizing outstanding journalistic achievements that embody professionalism, ethics, and a commitment to peace.

This prestigious award seeks to commend remarkable contributions to media in Georgia and beyond, fostering a culture of responsible reporting and conflict-sensitive journalism.

The prize features a range of categories, each designed to applaud diverse facets of journalistic excellence.

Diverse Categories, Dazzling Achievements

The EU Prize for Journalism 2023 casts a spotlight on a spectrum of journalistic feats, encompassing the following categories:

  1. Best Story in Print or Online Media
  2. Best Feature Story in Broadcast or Online Media
  3. Best Investigative Story in Print, Online, or Broadcast Media
  4. Best Blog, Opinion, or Column in Print, Online, or Broadcast Media
  5. Most Innovative and Original Piece of Work in Print, Broadcast, or Online Media
  6. Best Documentary Photo Reflecting EU Values
  7. Best Student Work in Print, Online, or Broadcast Media

A Special Embrace for Peace Journalism

In a pursuit to cultivate harmony in conflict-ridden scenarios, the EUMM Special Prize for Peace Journalism stands as an epitome of conflict-sensitive reporting.

This extraordinary accolade recognizes media endeavors that contribute to confidence-building and peace amidst armed conflicts in Georgia.

The recipient of this special prize will not only earn accolades but also a remarkable opportunity: a one-month fellowship at the prestigious Institute of War and Peace Reporting in London.

Seize the European Union Journalism Prize 2023 for Georgians (5,200 GEL)
Seize the European Union Journalism Prize 2023 for Georgians (5,200 GEL)

Rewards and Recognition

For those who excel in the primary seven categories, a compelling reward awaits. Winners will receive a coveted cash prize, each amounting to approximately 5,200 GEL.

Additionally, the EUMM Special Prize victor will embark on a transformative journey through the fellowship at the Institute of War and Peace Reporting.

Stepping into the Limelight: How to Participate

Participation in this distinguished competition is a seamless endeavor. Applicants must complete the online application form by November 1, 2023.

Required materials differ based on the chosen category, ranging from electronic files of submissions to photocopies of print editions or online publication proofs.

For multimedia submissions, scripts and permanent links come into play, ensuring a comprehensive presentation of each participant’s work.

Cultivating Journalism Excellence

Established in 2012, the EU Prize for Journalism is deeply rooted in the principles of the Georgian Charter of Journalistic Ethics, amplifying professionalism and ethical conduct in Georgian journalism.

As the contest seeks to reward not only excellence but also ethics, participants are encouraged to seize this opportunity to showcase their dedication to the art of responsible reporting.

For Further Information:

To delve deeper into the European Union Prize for Journalism 2023 and gain invaluable insights, feel free to reach out to the respective contact persons:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *